Salt Cinnamon and Love

Truly only Jesus can heal, refresh, and restore

With!

10 Comments

6 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:6

New King James Version (NKJV)

I am always amazed as I read God’s Word how the level of understanding during one season of life becomes enlarged by the Holy Spirit in another season.  Suddenly new revelation lights the path more clearly.

During recent stressful events in my life, the Lord reminded me about Philippians 4:6.  As I reread this passage the Holy Spirit gave me a new understanding and stabilized my heart with His peace.

I know if I take the time to share this new insight it will be better defined within me. This definitely isn’t the whole picture about prayer by any means. It is a simple but important lesson I learned in the life school of prayer.  But first, I have to backtrack. Years ago, I looked at prayer as an itemized check list. I relied on a list of prayer concerns, and prayed through those lists faithfully. Prayer was stylistic and the approach to God was ritualistic.  I grew up learning about the ACTS way to pray. This formula encouraged a diversity of purpose when praying to God, making sure that focus wasn’t just on petitioning or supplication, but also covering all the other areas as well. Indeed, we do need to include worship, confession, thanksgiving and petition in prayers on a regular basis. This is the formula:

  • A = adoration
  • C= confession
  • T= thanksgiving
  • S= supplication

Over time, as my needs became greater and formulas failed to work, I was pressed to seek the Lord more diligently through prayer. He encouraged me to speak to Him with spontaneity and honesty. I learned to run to Him as soon as I realized I’d chosen the wrong way, seeking His forgiveness and mercy; I began depending on Him when I had a need; He helped me appreciate being still before Him as I enjoyed His presence; the encounters with Him led me to rejoice with praise, and to worship Him for who He is and what He does. He showed me how to reach past myself with intercessory prayer for His Kingdom, His glory and for others.  New lessons about learning to hear Him are ever enlightening my heart. Yet, I was still missing an important concept about effectual prayer.

Each new difficulty in life presents opportunity for growth in the knowledge of our Father’s heart and in talking with Him in prayer. The recent situations I faced were no exception. As He led me to Philippians 4:6 several months ago, two words from that verse realigned my prayers over the issues I was facing.  Actually it was only one word, the word “with“.

Effective praying is not just telling God our needs and then remembering to be thankful.  Giving thanks and petitioning are entwined in a single focus on God. Petition and thanksgiving come together as need meets assurance. Petitions are made… with thanksgiving, as the heart seeks comfort from a faithful, loving Father. Jesus set the example as He often expressed thanksgiving in His own prayers to the Father.100_2064

Giving thanks, while seeking God’s help through petitions, is an act of worship.  If I am asking my Father for something with a heart of thanksgiving, I am acknowledging that He will hear my prayers, will do what is best for me and will always respond with a loving redemptive plan. If my petitions are not joined with thanksgiving, I am not allowing my heart to expect the best from God. The “if’s , maybe’s, could you’s, and sure am hoping’s” become more evident in petitions that don’t flow with thanksgiving. To be thankful while petitioning is also an act of faith and trust in the goodness of God. Doubt and disbelief are eliminated when thanksgiving and petitions are offered together.

There are dark times when petitioning is done with anguish and tears, and it just doesn’t feel like a time to be thankful. You can’t even pretend to be thankful. I have experienced those times. It took the power of the Holy Spirit working in me to muster a simple “thank you Father for your goodness, even in this stressful situation” when recent unforeseen events encroached upon my life. On a deeper level I’ve heard and read testimonies of Christians who have lost loved ones or suffered unbearable hardship and pain, but were able to lift thanksgiving/worship in anticipation of God’s goodness, comfort and blessings… yet to be revealed. Despite those painful times, the Holy Spirit is able to lift our hearts with thanksgiving. The key is faith in God’s goodness and, asking to be thankful, as we realize in times of desperation we sometimes aren’t able to offer thanksgiving. Through the power of the Holy Spirit, thanksgiving begins to rise from our hearts and our focus is lifted up to our Faithful Father.

100_2076

It pleases the Lord for us to come to Him with confidence in His love. I will never fully understand why the Lord does what He does or how He answers my prayers. But I can always be assured His love will be the motive behind His every plan and action.

Ephesians 5:20 Amplified Bible (AMP) 20 At all times and for everything giving thanks in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ to God the Father.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 New International Version (NIV) 18 give thanks in all circumstances;for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

2 Thessalonians 2:16-17 American Standard Version (ASV)16 Now our Lord Jesus Christ himself, and God our Father who loved us and gave us eternal comfort and good hope through grace, 17 comfort your hearts and establish them in every good work and word.

Colossians 1:11-12 Amplified Bible (AMP)11 [We pray] that you may be invigorated and strengthened with all power according to the might of His glory, [to exercise] every kind of endurance and patience (perseverance and forbearance) with joy,12 Giving thanks to the Father, Who has qualified and made us fit to share the portion which is the inheritance of the saints (God’s holy people) in the Light.

Connecting, with love

Donna

Author: Donna

Honoring the Lord by sharing, learning and encouraging...... "And He said to them, Go into all the world and preach and publish openly the good news (the Gospel) to every creature [of the whole human race]." Mark 16:15 AMP "Cast your bread upon the waters, For you will find it after many days." Ecclesiastes 11:1 AMP

10 thoughts on “With!

  1. Hi Donna I’m sorry, I only just found this message and what a wonderful message it is and for me it has come at the right time. Yes there is only one Truth and that is God’s but we were all created unique and each of us responds to God in our own way, what is the most important thing is…is that we do.

    I don’t give thanks to God for the suffering I experience but I do that He is with me in it and gives me the strength to endure and what I continually give thanks for, is His assurance that He will work everything out for good regardless how hard the situation I’m experiencing is.

    Thanks Donna for your kindness in responding to my Accident and for your prayers, may you be greatly Blessed as you bless others.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    • Good to see you back in action again Anne! God does indeed do amazing work in all the circumstances of life. Praising Him with you! Love you…Donna

  2. Hi Donna not sure if you will read this but I was wondering how you are, I have missed you but realize sometimes life must come before blogging , hope all is well.

    Christian Love from all of us – Anne

    • Hello Anne! Good to hear from you! You are so right about life coming before blogging. I have been very busy with grandchildren, work and selling our home. We are moving to be near my parents so I can help out as they age. Maybe one day after the dust settles I can blog again. Hope all is well with you and Ron. Love you! Donna

  3. I needed to read this today, “6 Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; 7 and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” So much going on in my head. So many worries and questions. With prayers and generous support from so many, I know my brothers and sisters in the Philippines will rise again. God bless.

  4. So very True Donna, regardless of what happens in our World, God will work it all out for good in the Lives of those who Love , Trust and obey Him, why because we reap what we sow and that means the good things too, we are storing up Treasure in Heaven for Eternity and it won’t perish like the things of on earth does, rust and thief’s will not affect our Spiritual Treasure .

    Time on earth is short, thankfully God’s work done in His way never lacks His supply and that includes, not just money but Time and Spiritual gifts.

    I think of you often Donna and hope your move went well, I’m thankful you still respond to comments and will look forward to your messages again in the future.

    We Love you in The Lord – Anne.

    • Yes and Amen Anne! Thanks for checking on me. We are still waiting for our house to sell, knowing it is God’s will and timing we are looking for. Hope to write again one day, but for now I am content investing in His kingdom as He leads and directs. Love you too! Donna

  5. Much Love, Joy and Blessings for Christmas and in the New Year Donna for you and your Loved ones, thank you for all we shared together.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

    • Merry Christmas and Happy New Year Anne and Ron, and your family as well! May God continue to use you to shine His light through your words and thoughts.
      love you
      Donna

Leave a Reply -

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers