Salt Cinnamon and Love

Truly only Jesus can heal, refresh, and restore

Anchor and Umpire

15 Comments

Over the last few weeks I have cried tears of joy…. and tears of sorrow.

During the last weekend in January I was blessed to watch another grandchild enter this world. You would think that after the other two births I would know what to expect and not be so utterly overcome by the emotions of awe, love and joy. Not so! It happened again just like it did  the other two times. Waves of tears, laughter, praise and words of aaahhh’s and ooohhh’s kept flowing from within me. My job during labor and delivery is to help my son-in-love (heard that term from a friend and I like it a lot better than son-in-law).  He in turn devotes himself to attending to his wife, my daughter. I fetch his snacks and coffee, text updates to the rest of the family and friends, take memory-making photos and pray. This loving couple place their focus intently on the task before them. Their unity and support of each other is precious to behold. I am so thankful they allow me to witness the births of their babies. Who can ever fully explain the marvel of a newborn baby drawing his first breath of air and flexing his lungs with hardy cries! With tears of joy it is so easy to praise the Lord and release words of thankfulness in prayers to Him.

100_1969

Then came the tears of sorrow. Due to circumstances, unexpected and from another area of life, confusion and turmoil manifested. I again felt emotions flow from deep inside of me, but this time the tears were mingled with fear, worry, anxiety, and discouragement. It was harder to kneel before the Lord with thanksgiving and praise. It was difficult to find that place of rest in Him, His peace. But as I ran to Him, thanking Him for His love and trusting Him to bless me through this dilemma, He lovingly and patiently taught me how to deal with my problem and gave me two very precious verses to encourage me. Blessings came in the form of hope and peace as His grace made my path straight again.

I am a visual learner so I love word pictures that teach a principle. Both of the verses  the Lord revealed to me use a specific word to elaborate the truth.

Hebrews 6:17-20 New International Version (NIV)

17 Because God wanted to make the unchanging nature of his purpose very clear to the heirs of what was promised,he confirmed it with an oath.18 God did this so that, by two unchangeable things in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled to take hold of the hope set before us may be greatly encouraged.19 We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain,20 where our forerunner, Jesus, has entered on our behalf. He has become a high priest forever, in the order of Melchizedek.

An anchor “holds something else secure; gives stability or security”.  In the verse above, hope is the anchor for the soul. Not just hope in general, like being positive or optimistic. It is hope in God, His truthfulness, His faithfulness, and the fact that He is a promise keeper. What He says He will do… will be done. Whenever trouble comes, it is our hope in Him that anchors us. The waves of life don’t have to sweep us into the rocks of the shoreline. I found it interesting as I looked for images of anchors to discover that many anchors have a cross in the center of their design. The work Jesus did at the cross provided us with the ability to approach our Heavenly Father with confidence, to go through the veil of the Holy of Holies, meeting Him, receiving the fullness of our inheritance in Him, and finding our security through His promises that He has the power, desire and ability to accomplish.

Colossians 3:15 Amplified Bible (AMP)

 

15 And let the peace (soul harmony which comes) from Christ rule (act as umpire continually) in your hearts [deciding and settling with finality all questions that arise in your minds, in that peaceful state] to which as [members of Christ’s] one body you were also called [to live]. And be thankful (appreciative), [giving praise to God always]

This verse really got my attention when the Amplified translation interpreted  ” let the peace from Christ rule” as like an umpire.  An umpire is “a person chosen to render a decision in a dispute; an official who administers the rules”.  The Peace of Jesus Christ, who is the Prince of Peace, is the umpire of our hearts, continually ruling out the thoughts that do not line up with the Father’s heart and purposes for our lives. The enemy, the world and our own minds can speak into our lives untruthful words of hopelessness, despair, faithlessness, and words lacking in love. We are all tempted when turmoil enters to allow these destructive thoughts to take seed in our hearts.  If we do, the harvest is fruitlessness and defeat. When I yielded to the Holy Spirit of Jesus Christ, the Prince of Peace, His Peace lovingly pointed out the untruths that I was allowing to germinate within me. He knew those thoughts would prevent me from being in the blessing of God’s game plan for that difficult situation. The analogy grows weak as I compare Jesus Christ to a real life umpire. Jesus is not the demanding, dictatorial force that would insist on getting the final word in His ruling. No, the Holy Spirit of Jesus Christ stands ready with His wisdom and love, waiting on us to seek His way and yield to His work in us. I  see Him as that consistent Reminder saying, “this is the way, walk in it”.  So, this turmoil became another opportunity to praise and give thanksgiving to God even in the midst of it. He calmed the storm within me, giving me His Peace.  Then I could live with hope in Him, waiting and expecting Him to calm the storm around me as well.

Philippians 4 New King James Version (NKJV) 

Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I will say, rejoice!Let your gentleness be known to all men. The Lord is at hand. Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

Connecting, with love

Donna

Author: Donna

Honoring the Lord by sharing, learning and encouraging...... "And He said to them, Go into all the world and preach and publish openly the good news (the Gospel) to every creature [of the whole human race]." Mark 16:15 AMP "Cast your bread upon the waters, For you will find it after many days." Ecclesiastes 11:1 AMP

15 thoughts on “Anchor and Umpire

  1. Oh my goodness! This really speaks to me – I tend to go into panic mode too quickly when something happens. And always, I find that running to the Lord and claiming the promises He’s given calms my spirit and makes me take a breath and step back. And that thing about the anchor having a cross at the heart of it – wonderful!!
    Oh…and that baby…precious!

    • Finding so many anchors with the cross design was a special little revelation as I working on the blog. God really wants me to remember just how much I need Jesus! I am unable to fully measure all that His work on the cross did and continues to do! Thanks for catching up with the blogs!

      • just that discovery of the cross on the anchor makes me think of a blog post all its own. I’ve noticed that before too, but never really went beyond noting it in my head. This post really made me consider the deeper implications of that. And I truly don’t think it was by accident that that particular design seems to work best for an anchor.

      • I almost did this post about the anchor verse alone. But I received both verses about the same time and felt led to keep them together to explain the complete revelation I had gained through them. I believe He is leading us to focus more on the cross as the anchor…and all that His cross means…grace, hope, love…uh oh, so much more…here comes another post. :-)

      • yup – I feel a blog post coming on! I’ll look forward to reading it.

  2. How wonderful to hear the joy in your voice. We are so very happy for you — and so grateful to have another precious picture of the beautiful new bud of our family tree! Enjoy each and every sweet, shining moment of snuggling with him and celebrating your wonderful life together. Congratulations!

    • Thanks Kathy! I try to be as transparent as possible while also preserving privacy. So much more to share but I boiled it down so everyone gets the general picture. It truly is a blessing walking with the Lord, through good and bad times. He is faithful in both. Love you so much….Donna

  3. Congratulations Donna, Oh how beautiful he is and so blessed to be born into such a Loving family like yours. It reminds me that when we are Born again we too are in a family and they are all over the world, each child born is part of us, each person who comes to heart repentance is in Unity with us, we are one in Christ Jesus but if we do not walk in God’s Truth and be of one mind, we fracture and no longer mature.

    God’s Truth does not cause concern unless we are in error , sometimes though, like it was for me for many years, we don’t see God’s big picture in the Scriptures, just parts this is why we need to ask for His wisdom and believe we have received it. Will there be any temptation greater then we can bear, God tells us no!

    Christian Love – Anne

    • Thanks for the greetings Anne. We are totally enjoying this blessing from God! Yes, I am also very thankful for God’s truths and how He is able to deliver us from all temptation. I am also so thankful for being part of His family and connecting with brothers and sisters.It is a joy to grow together in Him. love you…Donna

  4. Congratulations to your new addition, he is so handsome! And I really enjoyed reading, with confirmation—my spirit bearing witness with the Holy Spirit’s anointing—that Jesus is my anchor. God bless you, your family and your ministry, in Jesus’ name, Amen.

    • Thank you! I am really enjoying him, and his brother and sister as well! In fact, I’m enjoying them so much I still don’t have as much time to do regular posts like I did when I started the blog.However, I am praying that whenever and whatever I write will be from the Lord, glorifying Him and encouraging others.I appreciate your affirmation very much!!

  5. Hi Donna, thank you for visiting us yesterday it was a wonderful encouragement for Heidi of course Blogging is very new for her but she was very surprised and thankful that strangers took the time to show they cared.

    Heidi was shockingly abused by a Boyfriend when she was young, I’m still finding what happened to her hard to deal with, she had known this boy for 3 years and very much Trusted him but said he did seem strange for a few weeks before, perhaps it was drugs, her life has been one of great fear. Her family is her whole life now, I’m one of the few people she Trusts other then them.

    I would very much value your prayers for Heidi that she may know like we do that Jesus is indeed her Anchor and when Satan seeks to cause her to fear again and doubt God’s Love as he tries to do with all of us who Love Jesus, that she will feel secure in knowing He will never abandon or hurt her and that she can Trust Him fully always.

    Thanks again, Love you in The Lord – Anne.

  6. God has blessed Heidi with a loving friend like you! Yes, I will pray for her as she continues to learn about, and rely on Jesus. He is the Great Healer, able to heal her hurts, and He will never leave her or forsake her. He loves her so much!!! Sending love to you, Ron and Heidi! Donna

Leave a Reply -

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers